

The

Thirtieth Conference

of

The Samuel Griffith Society

3rd - 5th August, 2018

DRAFT PROGRAM

The Pullman Hotel
King George Square
Corner of Ann and Roma Streets
Brisbane, Queensland 4000

Friday, 3 August 2018

1:00pm - 2:00pm: **Special Pre-Conference Event**

Tour of Parliament House, Corner of George and Alice Streets, Brisbane

(registration required, and available only to conference attendees)

6:15pm: Pre-Conference Cocktail Party

Dinner 7:30pm:

Honourable Campbell Newman - "Not all the smart people are in Canberra"

Saturday, 4 August 2018

8:30am: Registration

8:45am: Opening Remarks - Eddy Gisonda

"Federalism" Session 1:

9:00am: Honourable Justice David Jackson - "Are there unrecognised possible limitations on the

State's powers of constitutional amendment derived from the Constitution?"

9:30am: Discussion

9:45am: Associate Professor Robyn Hollander - "Morality policy and federalism"

10:15am: Discussion

10:30am: **Morning Tea**

The 10th Sir Harry Gibbs Memorial Oration

11:00am: Honourable Susan Kiefel, AC

11:30am: **Break**

Session 2: "Freedom of Religion"

11:40am: **Professor Nicholas Aroney**

Discussion 12:10pm:

12:25pm: Lunch

Session 2: "Freedom of Religion cont ..."

The Most Reverend Julian Porteous DD 1:40pm:

2:10pm: Discussion

Gerard Henderson 2:25pm:

2:55pm: Discussion3:10pm: Afternoon Tea

Session 3: "The Murphy Papers"

3:40pm: Professor Nicholas Cowdery, AM, QC - "The Murphy Trials"

4:10pm: Honourable Stephen Charles, AO, QC - "The Commission of Inquiry"

4:40pm: Combined Discussion

5:10pm: Free time

Saturday Night Dinner

6:30pm: Pre-Dinner Drinks

7:00pm: Dinner

Honourable Peter Dutton MP

Vote of thanks: Senator Amanda Stoker

Sunday, 5 August 2018

Session 4: "Law and War"

8:40am: Major General Aziz Gregory Melick, AO, SC

9:10am: Discussion

9:25am: Break

Session 5: "An Australian Republic?"

9:30am: Honourable Tony Abbott MP - "In defence of our current constitutional arrangements"

10:00am: Discussion

10:15am: Morning Tea

Session 5: "An Australian Republic? cont ..."

10:40am: Professor David Flint, AM - "More than a waste of time and money, a significant

obstacle to constitutional reform"

11:10pm: Discussion

11:25am: Gray Connolly - "Crown or republic: there is no via media"

11:55pm: Discussion

12:10am: Break

12:20pm: Special address

Honourable Dr Chris Jessup, QC

"The strange demise of the conciliation and arbitration power"

12:50pm: Concluding Remarks (Honourable Ian Callinan, AC)

Speakers:

The Honourable Susan Kiefel, AC Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia
The Honourable Peter Dutton Minister for Home Affairs, Immigration and Border Security
The Honourable Campbell Newman Former Premier of Queensland
The Honourable David Jackson Justice of the Supreme Court of Queensland
The Honourable Dr Chris Jessup, QC Former Justice of the Federal Court of Australia
The Honourable Tony Abbott Former Prime Minister of Australia
The Honourable Stephen Charles, AO, QC Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria
The Most Reverend Julian Porteous DD Archbishop of Hobart
Major General Aziz Gregory Melick, AO, SC Chief Integrity Commissioner of Tasmania
Professor Nicholas Cowdery, AM, QC Former DPP for the State of New South Wales
Professor Nicholas Aroney Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Queensland
Professor David Flint, AM National Convenor, Australians for Constitutional Monarchy
Associate Professor Robyn Hollander Head of Griffith Business School, Griffith University
Gerard Henderson Executive Director of the Sydney Institute

The Samuel Griffith Society PO Box 13076, Law Courts, VIC 8010 (03) 9225 8512

Gray Connolly Barrister at Law in the State of New South Wales

Email: contact@samuelgriffith.org.au

www.samuelgriffith.org.au