For well over one and a half centuries, governments have changed peacefully and democratically in Australia when one of the viceroys calls on the MP who has the confidence of the more popular house of parliament to form a government and swears in the ministers of the Crown. This ancient ceremony will be repeated on Wednesday morning 17 September 2013 at Government House, Canberra.