September 18

Ministers swear allegiance

When the new ministers were sworn in as the ''Queen's Minister of State for the Commonwealth'' on 18 September, 2013, they took an Oath of Office in which they once again swore allegiance to The Queen of Australia .

The Prime Minister, the Hon Tony Abbott, called on the ministers to seek to emulate the standards of service established throughout her reign by Her Majesty.

The Prime Minister had advised the Governor-General on the form of Oath which the ministers should take. On which the Constitution is silent, prescribing only  the form of Oath for Members of Parliament and Senators. The Founders did not think that anyone would try to circumvent the constitutional system without the people first agreeing to change it. (Some republicans, such as the late expert Professor George Winterton, disagree with some politicians attempts to hide the Crown.)  

ACM congratulates the Prime Minister in restoring the oath which correctly reflects the constitutional arrangements the people have approved and affirmed.




You may also like

Celebrate the King’s Birthday

Celebrate the King’s Birthday

Record Online Audience 

Record Online Audience 
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Subscribe to our newsletter!